276°
Posted 20 hours ago

The Keeper of Lost Things

£9.9£99Clearance
ZTS2023's avatar
Shared by
ZTS2023
Joined in 2023
82
63

About this deal

But Tilly's childhood was shattered when her mother sent her away from the only home she'd ever loved to boarding school with little explanation and no warning. A sometimes poignant, sometimes funny but always heartfelt page-turner, The Keeper of Lost Things turned out to be exactly the book I was looking for. Accept the things to which fate binds you, and love the people with whom fate brings you together, but do so with all your heart. It isn’t revealed how this narrative connects with Laura’s until the end, but it does and in a very satisfying way. WE’RE ALL JUST WAITING TO BE FOUND…An irresistible debut novel of lost objects and second chances, in the vein of The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry and The Rosie Project.

It was the invisible thread that would have connected him to her even after she was gone, but now it was broken along with his promise to her. The house that Anthony leaves to Laura is named Padua and without a doubt, there is the supernatural presence of Anthony's late fiance in the house and garden. When chemo kept me up all night I passed the time writing and the eventual result was THE KEEPER OF LOST THINGS, my first novel, which was published in January 2017, and has now been selected as a Richard and Judy Book Club pick. Mind you this is a book which starts and ends with a biscuit tin full of someone's earthly remains so it is not all sweetness and light! I felt inspired after reading this novel and found this a comfortable, feel good read that left me thinking how those little things in life could actually be more consequential than one might think.

This book turned out to be way different than my usual reading, but I think in this case that was a good thing as I found much to enjoy in this quite charming novel. I started to really worry about the book when it became clear that there would be no shift in the narrative voice whatsoever - and what I mean by that is that, when the little 'stories behind the items' were included, they were narrated in the exact same manner as the text that had come before it, with Laura in centre stage. Please tell me I’m not the only reader with this issue as I already have too many as it is (books AND issues). As soon as a friend of mine suggested this book to me, I was excited because I have heard so many good things about Ruth’s story telling.

In fact, I doubt anyone would want to claim Portia, the one actual sibling of a main character, as family. This was a feel good story, one that will propel you out of the doldrums and make you quite glad that you got to spend some time with Anthony, Laura, Sunshine, Freddy, Eunice, and Bomber and least I forget some lovely four legged friends. Its a powerful story not just about just the lost objects but the stories behind them becoming lost. By far the most AWFUL part of the book was Sunshine, the 'dancing drome' character with Down Syndrome. I’m Charlotte, a British book blogger who also moonlights as an agency nurse in hospitals all around the south west of England.

We get to hear about Laura's life and the difficulties she is trying to resolve and leave behind her. Perhaps opinions will depend on how much magic the group members have experienced in their lives, how often they have been startled by sheer coincidence and impossible explanations, or whether they went through the looking-glass to Wonderland, or through the wardrobe to Narnia, and never came back. It was going well, but then in 2012 I got cancer, which was bloody inconvenient but precipitated an exciting hair journey from bald to a peroxide blonde Annie Lennox crop. This book was conceived when she got cancer in 2012 and the insomnia-fueled writing produced the keeper of lost things. Psychological realism, whimsy and magic are a winning combination in this quirky, exquisitely crafted novel.

The descriptions of Alzheimers were appreciated as being ‘beautifully done though not avoiding the sadness and misery it causes to both sufferer and loved ones’. One man asks the other man whether he likes being a taxi driver, and the other man says yes but then elaborates with an incident in his early career in which he ran down a man?She is curious by what is behind his office door but knows Anthony will have a perfectly good reason for doing so. On the day she died, on the way to meet her, Anthony lost some precious item that she gave to him and made him promise to always keep with him. That loss, both losses, led him to the obsessive and meticulous collecting of lost things, cataloging them and caring for them, in the hopes that his lost thing would be found and cared for also.

Asda Great Deal

Free UK shipping. 15 day free returns.
Community Updates
*So you can easily identify outgoing links on our site, we've marked them with an "*" symbol. Links on our site are monetised, but this never affects which deals get posted. Find more info in our FAQs and About Us page.
New Comment